Duels

A few nights ago my adult child was very upset with me. This worried me because it doesn’t happen often, but when it does it feels like it lasts a lifetime.I really felt that I had no choice on my plan of action that caused this tempest. I was sure  that it would be a very long time before I would see her. I tried to observe it for what it really was. She was scared and mad. I kept sending love her way and tried to not take it personally.

That night I had a dream.

I had to have a duel with someone.
I really didn’t want to do this.
My weapon was a small pistol wrapped on my ankle.
(If you know me, you know I do not like guns.
I am not judging anyone who carries one,
my own husbands packs one daily.)
I didn‘t want to have a duel.
 
This was an easy dream to figure out after some thought,
I am no expert but I try to take my dreams seriously,
especially the vivid ones.
 
Even though I felt I had to go through with this duel, in the end I chose not to.
I refused to cause harm to this person,
 
The fact that I wore this on my ankle showed
something was bothering me that isn’t going away.
I needed to choose my direction.
 
The gun showed anger and aggression and potential danger.
The fact that I even had a gun really showed me this dream was serious.
 
I am sure many of you know much more about dreams than me.
If I am “off the mark” (excuse the pun), just realize I am a novice.
 
Anyway, I said all that to say this;
The miracle of this story was, when I woke up the next morning,
there was an apology on my phone.
 
The moral of the story?
Send love to those who hurt you and pay attention to your dreams!
Leave a Reply

