debate of friends of the opposite sex

Can men and women be friends?

Ask most married people and they will not want their spouse hanging around a member of the opposite sex. I know I don’t. Why? Because,too many times I have trusted a member of the opposite sex only to have regretted it later. My husband is very trustworthy. Probably the most trustworthy man I know. I don’t worry about him cheating on me. That doesn’t mean I am going to make it easy for the opportunity to arise however. Can I be trusted? Absolutely. I know me and the person I love more than anyone else is myself. I know that sounds horrible but things that I have said or done to others I wouldn’t have done to myself, so as shameful as it sounds I must love myself more.

I have to love myself before I can love anyone else. I trust myself. Trust is a huge issue with love. The reason I won’t cheat is because it is me I look at in the mirror every morning. I am all I have got, so I have to be true to myself. Besides I think cheating is really a horrible thing to do to the one you love or at least loved in the past. I think we need to treat each other with respect. To do that you need to end one relationship before you begin another.

So, all that being said, I have a friend of the opposite sex. I haven’t seen him in many years. Him and I shared a special bond. He understood the spiritual side of me. We both read the book anam cara and felt that we were soul friends. We connected on many levels. But, we were friends, good friends. I miss him. I wish we could be long distance friends. That we could continue to share insights, a friendship. My husband wouldn’t get it. I know I am trustworthy but if the shoe were on the other foot I would want him to respect my wishes. I love my husband. So, in my situation, that answers that debate.

 

 

Leave a Reply

