30 years ago…

I was 30… years ago. I was holding  my second child, a newborn.  Her name is Harmony and today she is 25, and she is across the room from me holding her newborn baby. Her second child,Dominic. She was my second child as well. A lot has happened in the last 25 years.  She knows so much about raising children but she has yet to experience many of the parts that pull at a mother’s heart. I have been feeling a lot of “pulling” this last week. There is a lot going on with my children. I worry about each of them more than I should. I can’t help it. I am a mommy and that is what I do. 25 years from now I will still worry about Harmony. I will hurt when she hurts. I will laugh at her joys. I get her. We understand each other. She is a great mom but her journey has just begun. Raising small children is a tough job. Loving adult children through the ebbs and flows of life takes a lot from a mother. Of course it is all worth it. My children love me and they let me know it constantly. I am just saying being a mom is the hardest and best job in the world. Here is kudos to you mothers out there. Just keep loving and listening to those babies of yours. Soon they will be having babies of their own. I must say being a grandparent is the best gift your children give you. So Happy Birthday Harmony! Thank you for a wonderful 25 years and enjoy the next 25 years with your babies. I know I will!

 

1 Comment

  1. happilysleepdeprived said,

    January 17, 2012 at 10:53 pm

    I have spent twenty five years getting to know you and will spend the next twenty five thankful that I do. Thanks for being my best friend.


Leave a Reply

